

CONTENTS

1	IN	TRODUCTION	2
		IMPORTANT DATES	
		FEES	
	1.3	HOW TO APPLY	2
2	ST	REAMS AND COURSES OFFERED IN 2008-2009	3
		CTURERS IN 2008-2009	

1 INTRODUCTION

This document is the 2008-2009 annex to the general document "PROGRAMME GUIDELINES". This annex presents relevant and specific information regarding the academic year 2008-2009, including:

- Important dates, fees and other information
- Calendar
- Streams and courses offered in 2008-2009

1.1 Important Dates

For 2008-2009, the important dates are listed below:

	Fall Semester	Spring Semester
Application periods	26/05/2008 to 18/07/2008	03/11/2008 to 09/01/2009
Candidate selection	24/07/2008 to 31/07/2008	19/01/2009 to 23/01/2009
Registration	08/09/2008 to 11/09/2008	02/02/2009 to 05/02/2009
Starting dates	15/09/2008 to 19/09/2008	25/02/2009 to 27/02/2009

1.2 Fees

The annual fee is 3.000,00 Euros.

1.3 How to apply

For application the candidates should submit to the address below the application form and enclosing the following documents:

- · Education certificates
- Curriculum Vitae
- Copy of the passport or other identity document
- 2 letters of recommendation
- Photograph

Address for application:

Faculdade de Engenharia da Universiade do Porto Serviços Académicos – Divisão de Pós-graduação e Educação Contínua

Rua Dr. Roberto Frias, 4200-465 Porto, Portugal

Tel.:+351225082130 | 225081406, Fax: +351225081409, Email: sposgrad@fe.up.pt

The selection criterion is based on the CV of the candidate and on the overall marks in the undergraduate courses. A minimum of 16 out of 20 is required. All other cases will be evaluated by the PDEEC Scientific Committee in a case by case analysis. An overall mark in the range 14/20 to 16/20 will require a strong recommendation letter. The other cases can be exceptionally considered if strongly recommended by a Professor of the DEEC-FEUP.

For any additional information you may contact the PDEEC Secretariat.

PDEEC Secretariat:

Carla Lopes

Email: cflopes@fe.up.pt; Tel.:+351.225083205

2 Streams and Courses offered in 2008-2009

PDEEC courses are organized in two semesters. First year students typically select two main streams plus two electives. Each main stream is composed of two courses (one course per semester). The electives are chosen within PDEEC or other doctoral programmes at FEUP. Individual Topics 1 and 2 are additional courses intended to help the student start the research work, and to prepare the thesis research plan under the supervision of a professor. Students must find a thesis supervisor during the first semester. The research plan needs to be discussed and approved by the Supervisory Committee at the end of the first year.

The general organisation of the programme is as follows:



The PDEEC courses offered for 2008-2009 are shown in the following table. The student's course plan needs to be approved by the PDEEC Scientific Committee.

The streams opened in 2008-2009 are the following:

- Energy Markets (ENMAR)
- Power System Dynamics and Control (PSDCO)
- Systems and control (SYCON)
- Discrete Event and Hybrid Systems (**DEHSY**)
- Image Recognition and Machine Learning (IMRML)
- Microelectronics and Microsystems (MICRO)
- Test Technology and Design for Testability (TTDTE)
- Operations Research (OPRES)

The students can select as Electives the courses in the other streams or from other Doctoral Programmes at FEUP with similar number of ECTS, namely:

- Doctoral Programme on Sustainable Energy Systems (PDSSE) http://paginas.fe.up.pt/~pdsse/
- 2. Doctoral Programme in Informatics Engineering http://paginas.fe.up.pt/~prodei/site/presentation.php

This selection needs approval from the PDEEC Scientific Committee and requires acceptance from the PhD Programme from which the student has selected the elective(s).

The courses offered in 2008-2009 are listed in the following table.

COURSES STRFAM Course coordinator Other lecturers 2nd Semester 1st Semester **Markets and Regulation Market Simulation** Energy Markets (ENMAR) J. Tomé Saraiva Gerald Scheblé F. Siciliani de Oliveira **Systems with Renewables** Signals, Dynamics and Control Power System Dynamics and Control (PSDCO) Helena Vasconcelos (Lecturers to be defined) Vladimiro Miranda F. Maciel Barbosa Systems and Control **Vector Space Methods Measure Theory and Stochastic** (SYCON) Margarida Ferreira **Processes** Maria do Rosário Pinho Aníbal Matos Discrete Event and Hybrid **Discrete Event Systems Hybrid Systems** Systems (**DEHSY**) Fernando Lobo Pereira Fernando Lobo Pereira João Sousa **Machine Learning Image Analysis and Recognition** Image Recognition and Machine Learning (IMRML) Jaime Cardoso Aurélio Campilho Aurélio Campilho Ana Maria Mendonça Microelectronics and Microelectronic and **Advanced Microelectronic Systems Microelectromechanical Technologies** Design Microsystems (MICRO) Vítor Grade Tavares José Carlos Alves José Machado Silva J. Silva Matos Luís Rocha **Test and Design for Testability** Test Technology and Design **Instrumentation and Systems Testing** for Testability (**TTDTE**) José Martins Ferreira José Machado Silva José Machado Silva José Martins Ferreira Hélio Mendonca Hélio Mendonca Operations Research **Optimization Techniques Decision Support** (OPRES) José Fernando Oliveira Maria Antónia Carravilla José Fernando Oliveira Maria Antónia Carravilla **ELECTIVES Grid Computing Computational Intelligence and Power** Systems Jorge Barbosa Vladimiro Miranda Signal Analysis, Classification and **Processing**

Processing José Carlos Príncipe Aníbal Ferreira

Non-linear Control Fernando Lobo Pereira

INDIVIDUAL TOPICS

Individual Topics 1 João José Ferreira Individual Topics 2
Vitor GradeTavares

3 Lecturers in 2008-2009

PROFESSORS

Ana Maria Mendonça – amendon@fe.up.pt
Aníbal Ferreira – ajf@fe.up.pt
Aníbal Matos – anibal@fe.up.pt
Aurélio Campilho – campilho@fe.up.pt
F. Maciel Barbosa – fmb@fe.up.pt
F. Siciliani de Oliveira – Fernando.Oliveira@wbs.ac.uk
Fernando Lobo Pereira – flp@fe.up.pt
Gerald Sheblé – gbs@fe.up.pt

Hélio Mendonça – hsm@fe.up.pt J. Silva Matos – jms@fe.up.pt J. Tomé Saraiva – jsaraiva@fe.up.pt Jaime Cardoso – jsc@fe.up.pt

Helena Vasconcelos - mhv@fe.up.pt

João José Ferreira – jjpf@fe.up.pt
Jorge Barbosa – jbarbosa@fe.up.pt
José Carlos Alves – jca@fe.up.pt
José Carlos Príncipe – principe@fe.up.pt
José Fernando Oliveira - jfo@fe.up.pt
José Machado Silva - jms@fe.up.pt
Luís Rocha – Irocha@dei.uminho.pt
Margarida Ferreira – mmf@fe.up.pt
Maria Antónia Carravilla - mac@fe.up.pt
Maria do Rosário Pinho - mrpinho@fe.up.pt
Vítor Grade Tavares - vgt@fe.up.pt
Vladimiro Miranda - vmiranda@fe.up.pt